Today's Fact

Featured Post

African Elephant

Photo Credit: Gary M. Stolz Although the African elephant is the largest and most powerful of all living land mammals, it is also amo...

Monday, September 11, 2017


Peacocks and peahens—these are the birds known as peafowl, members of the pheasant family. Although most people call the species peacocks, the word really only refers to the male bird. Just like among chickens, where the male is called a rooster or cock and the female is called a hen, male peafowl are peacocks, female peafowl are peahens, and babies are peachicks! There are two peafowl species: Indian or blue peafowl and green peafowl. Most people are familiar with the Indian peafowl, since that is the kind found in many zoos and parks.

As omnivores, peafowls eat plants, berries, seeds and insects.

The blue peafowl lives in India and Sri Lanka, while the green peafowl is found in Java and Myanmar (Burma). A more distinct and little-known species, the Congo peafowl, inhabits African rain forests.

Did you know?
The Indian peafowl is the national bird of India and is protected in that country. To Hindus, the peafowl is a sacred bird; the spots on the peacock’s train symbolize the eyes of the gods.

Monday, August 28, 2017

Mountain Chicken

Photo Credit: TimVickers
Despite its name, the mountain chicken is actually one of the world's largest frogs. It is so named because its meat is said to taste like chicken. Sadly it is also one of the world's most threatened frog species. Once found on many Caribbean islands, it is now restricted to a few moist areas of only two: Dominica and Montserrat.

Its diet is highly varied, but it is thought to be strictly carnivorous, largely consuming crickets, although it also eats millipedes, insects, crustaceans and even small vertebrates, such as other frogs, snakes and small mammals.

Did you know?
Also known as giant ditch frogs, mountain chickens are one of the largest frogs in the world, measuring up to 21 cm.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...